My Role as a Dance Crew Member

Being part of a dance crew is like being in a choreographed dance routine—every member has his or her role to play, and together, we create something magical. My journey as a dance crew member has been nothing short of inspiring, filled with challenges, growth, and unforgettable moments. Beyond dancing, my roles have included editing posters, editing dance cover videos, and participating in active communication within the crew.

Here is a glimpse into my journey.

Task One: Poster Editing

One of my key responsibilities is editing posters for our YouTube dance covers, performances, and events. At first, I was nervous about taking on this role. In fact, I was hesitant to step up. However, I soon discovered that creating posters is just another form of artistic expression, so much like dance. It is all about capturing the essence of our crew and the energy of our performances in a still image.

To sit in front of a laptop and a Wacom drawing tablet can sometimes be dreary and tiring, but the countless hours spent experimenting with colors, fonts, and layouts whilst communicating with another dance crew member, trying to create something that stands out to represent our crew is still an exciting aspect of my role.

It is incredibly satisfying to see the final product, knowing that it will catch people’s attention. A poster is a small piece of art that showcases our passion for dancing.

👩🏻‍💻 Recent Edit: ARMAGEDDON Posters

Task Two: Dance Cover Videos 

🎵 ARMAGEDDON by AESPA – Here’s my recent video edit for Dubyeol

Another exciting aspect of my role is editing dance cover videos. This task combines my love for dance with editing in general. Although Adobe Premiere Pro is a foreign software to my eyes, I ensure to have enough patience and a keen eye for detail.

From creating the perfect color grading to capture the mood to keyframing the video for refinement, every step is crucial. It is a meticulous process that gives me back pains and eye strains from sitting too long in front of my desk. But, seeing the final video come together is just rewarding.

These videos not only exhibit our talent but also serve as a way to connect with a broader audience online and share our passion for dance and K-Pop.

🎵 EASY by LE SSERAFIM — My First Attempt to Video Editing Using Adobe Premiere Pro

Task Three: Communication

In any team, it is crystal clear that communication is significant, and a dance crew is no different at all.

As someone who values organization and teamwork, I have taken on the role of making sure that there is active communication within the crew. This means coordinating rehearsals, sending out dance cover suggestions, and attempting to have everyone to be on the same page regarding upcoming dance covers and other projects.

For me, I have learned the importance of clear and concise communication. Whether it is through group chats or face-to-face meetings, keeping everyone involved is essential. More importantly, every dance crew member has his or her own opinion, so it is important to let their thoughts be heard and acknowledged.

As I continue my journey with my dance crew, I am more excited about what the future will bring to us. Each role I take on, from editing posters to managing communications, is truly an experience for me.

ᯓ★ DANA



Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started