From the Living Room to the Spotlight: My Dance Journey

If the current me had told the pandemic era me that I would be dancing on stages and doing YouTube covers with K-Pop dance crews, I would have bursted out laughing and not taken it seriously.

Yet, here I am, a living proof that such a dream happened with just little confidence yet exuding with passion.

Now, picture this—me blasting K-Pop music in my living room, and dancing like no one was watching… well,  apart from my two dogs.

I must say that my moves were not so great as it was embarrassing to see how I lacked in several aspects. But hey, what was important is that I was enjoying it. What mattered to me back then that I was dancing, and that, alone, felt incredible.

Level One: Joining Dance Classes 

Sooner or later, my living room concerts did not satisfy me at all. I craved more. More space, more moves, and, dare I say– more structure. So, I did something unexpected during the pandemic: I signed up for dance class. You might think that I partook in a proper dance class where it teaches you the dance basics, but I did not. Instead, I opted for the option of dance classes in the gym, and no, it is not a Zumba class.

Thanks to my gym membership, I get to attend these dance classes weekly. To my surprise, those dance classes were challenging. It exhausted my body more than what I had anticipated. However, I did notice that there was a gradual improvement, and this became my go-to activity after online classes. Not only that I was dancing at that time, but it was also the small gym community that made me feel welcomed. 

Level Two: Joining a Dance Crew

When I entered my first year of university, a friend approached me about doing a K-Pop dance audition for their dance crew. At first, I was not interested due to the admittedly low self-esteem I had. Well, to be honest, it was more of a mix of excitement and sheer terror. Could I really do this? However, with the consistency of my friend encouraging me, I eventually gave in.

I ended up filling out their online audition application and submitted my last minute dance video. It was nerve-wracking as I waited for quite a while, but all I can say was that I gave my all. When I received the email that I’d made the crew, I felt like I was walking on air. Being part of a dance crew was a whole new experience.

We began practicing intensely, honing our routines and syncing our movements to K-Pop choreographies for upcoming dance projects. 

Level Three: Performing Live & YouTube Dance Covers

🎵 LAW – Yoon Mirae, BIBI (WOOTAE SWF Choreography) – First Dance Cover on YouTube

Immediately after being part of the dance crew, there were back-to-back projects that were an experience. From filming a YouTube dance cover in CityWalk, performing for a local TV channel as a special guest to performing in Etisalat MOTB 2023, I am confident to say that both my mind and body were extremely exhausted. Despite the nervous energy being palpable, the nerves still melted away as it was replaced by pure adrenaline and joy of dancing in front of a crowd. 

Speaking of crowds, dancing in front of a live audience was unlike anything I have ever experienced. The cheers and the connection with the crowd—it was surprisingly electrifying. It somehow gave me that confidence and anticipation to participate in more dance projects such as performing on a big stage for Middle East Film & Comic Con 2023.

With every project, I gradually grew more confident with my skills and more connected as a crew, seeing others as friends.

The Next Level: ???

Of course, my dance journey doesn’t end here. There are always new styles to learn, new routines to master, and new stages to conquer. Spoilers alert: I am now part of another K-Pop dance crew in Dubai. I am quite unsure of how I can manage my uni life, personal goals, and dance crew activities, but it is certainly not a regret for me to have this busy dance life of mine.

So, here’s to the beat, the moves, and the incredible journey from the living room to the spotlight!

ᯓ★ DANA



Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started